top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBarry Ryerson

Writing with ME

I have ME.


What does that mean? Myalgic Encephalomyelitis is, by anyone's count, a stupidly long name, but it's arguably more accurate than the other name, Chronic Fatigue Syndrome.


For me, having ME has meant a massive change in life. I used to run 5Km 2-3 times a week. I worked in a stressful job, managing eight different courses, from pre-GCSE to degree level. I thoroughly enjoyed walking, having the odd drink, and driving anything with a motor, including aeroplanes.


All of that has gone now.


For the past few years, I have become intolerant to caffeine and alcohol. I cannot even eat a large meal, as it will cause my other symptoms to flare up. My balance is so bad that I need a walking stick outside the house. I can't walk far at all, so need to use either a mobility scooter or an electric wheelchair to simply go anywhere. I cannot drive, as I can collapse with no warning. Feeling refreshed after a good night's sleep is now a distant memory; a summer romance from my teenage years.


You know what? It could have been worse. There are some poor souls with ME in a much worse state than I am.


Of course, it still could get worse if I don't carefully manage myself as best I can.


So, I have taken refuge in something I have always loved: books. Not just reading them, but actually writing them. Yes, I'm slow at it, as my concentration doesn't allow me hours of work at a time. There will be days when I can't even concentrate properly on watching a TV show, let alone plotting or editing.


But I persevere. Like Stephen Hawing said: "Concentrate on things your disability doesn’t prevent you doing well, and don’t regret the things it interferes with."


So, what are my strengths? It literally takes me hours to gather the strength to get out of bed each morning. But, during that time, I can think. I can plan, probe at weak points of plot, come up with new ideas or shape old ones.


I can't draw to save my life. But I can learn how to use software such as GIMP to edit other images, or ask my suffering wife to draw or paint for me.


Apparently, I can even write, according to some lovely reviews and feedback I've had.


I hope you have time to read them, some day, and remember me.



10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page